top of page

REVIEW: Wicked The Musical UK Tour (Mayflower Theatre, Southampton) 6th June 2024

Updated: Jun 8




What's the most swankified place in town? That would be the Mayflower Theatre as the cast of the Wicked UK & Ireland tour takes to the Mayflower stage.


This family friendly musical tells the tale of the two witches from the famous film 'The Wizard of Oz'. Wicked tells the story of two unlikely friends, Elphaba (later known as the Wicked Witch of the West) and Galinda (later known as Glinda the Good), whose friendship struggles through their different personalities, love interest, viewpoints and style.


Laura Pick (Elphaba) wowed the audience with her strong, powerful vocals in songs such as: 'The Wizard And I', 'No Good Deed', and 'Defying Gravity', and beautiful singing in 'Im Not That Girl', all of which she sung incredibly. Her acting was amazing, and is hands down my favourite Elphaba.


As gutted as I was that Sarah O'Connor wasn't on for Glinda, I was amazed by the performance of Megan Gardiner who played Glinda. She was amazing as the hillarious, bubbly Glinda and her performance of 'Popular', was hillarious. She also had strong vocals in 'Thank Goodness', and 'No One Mourns The Wicked', and had a beautiful soprano voice. She had perfect comedic timing and was super entertaining to watch.


I loved the chemistry between Megan and Laura in the number 'For Good', being my favourite song in the show I really enjoy watching the beautiful chemistry between Elphaba and Glinda as it applies reality to the scene itself which always makes me emotional.


Wicked is my favourite musical and this was the 3rd time I saw it, and definitely my favourite time. I really enjoyed watching everybody in this particular cast, especially all the main characters, as they were all so good!


My personal favourite part of the show is the number 'One Short Day', as it has the most beautiful costumes and visuals. In general, Wicked has incredible costumes and set design and it just makes the show so fun and enjoyable to watch.


The choreography and singing was so amazing, it makes the show complete and looks and sounds fantastic. I can't imagine anyone ever being bored whilst watching this show because it's so exciting and enjoyable.


Wicked's Run at the Mayflower Theatre lasts until the 16th June. If you live in or near Southampton I strongly reccommend getting hands on some last minute tickets. I sat at the back of the stalls and it was an amazing view and would for sure sit there again!


The tour itself concludes in January 2025 and is touring around lots of major places around the UK and Ireland. Wherever you are, check where Wicked is performing closest to you and go watch it as it's to good to miss!



22 views0 comments

Komentáře


bottom of page